giving dance music a shot

Music is powerful. I have such an appreciation, love and admiration for those that bring music to my life. Finding a new song that I love makes me so happy. I play it full blast in my car, dance to it at home and sometimes make up choreography to it. It puts me in the best mood. I can’t imagine my life without it.

So needless to say, I’ve always been a huge fan of music, with my hip hop dance class at LA Fitness, Latin music background at home and indie singer/songwriter days in college, I love it all. I’ve always said that if you don’t like a particular genre, it’s because you haven’t heard a song you like yet.

That being said, I’ve never been a huge dance music fan. All the techno beats, lack of melodies and similar beats just never did it for me. There was no choreography I could do for it, didn’t bring out any kind of emotion and after a while dance music honestly gives me a headache.

My sisters fiance is ALWAYS playing dance music. It didn’t matter if it was 7pm or 7am, it was always on. Never understood it, thought it was annoying and after a while craved silence (I get that similar feeling after having football on all day). My sister likes dance music (it’s not her primary genre which I’m grateful for) and her roomate is a HUGE dance music lover. I’ve been told it’s the most popular genre in the world. I get that, the lyrics are “fillers”, melodies non existant, and there isn’t a lot of skill to dancing to it (even a simple step touch is advanced). You can jump around and still catch the beat.

So after our adventure at Lights All Night and having been surrounded by DJ’s all night for 2 nights straight, something happened. I LOVED Benny Benassi. Maybe it was the cute Italian accent where you couldn’t understand a word he said, the fact that he was so into what he was mixing, or the energy of the crowd. When he played “Cinema” I was hooked. I have heard that song before, playing in my sisters car (compliments of her fiance), but nothing like hearing it live sealed the deal.  I’ve been playing that damn song for 3 days straight. I heard it last night at Winston’s and danced like no one was watching (flipping my hair and jumping around). I even heard another song called “So Close” by Calvin Harris that I’m going to download and probably play a million times straight until I get tired of it and then not play it for a couple of months (that seems to be my routine).

So I have to say folks, I’ve found my song in the dance music genre. It was bound to happen eventually. So next time you hear yourself saying “ugh, I hate country music” or “jazz is so boring”, find comfort in the fact that you haven’t found your song yet. It’ll happen.

Now, before you start thinking “oh no, Sandra is a raver now!”, don’t get ahead of yourself. I’m not saying I’m now a dance music lover. I don’t think that’ll ever happen. I have, however, found a new appreciation for it and have opened myself up to it more. I’ve discovered there are dance songs that have melodies and aren’t as techno as what you usually hear. Those are the ones I like.

I’m giving it a shot.

Here are the 2 songs I’m hooked on right now:

 

Leave a Reply

