where’s your green?

St. Patty’s Day. Another excuse to drink, only with color requirements.

Every year I tell myself I need to buy a St. Patty’s shirt and never get around to it. Maybe next year (or the next, or the next). One of our friends had bought a shirt at Wal-Mart that had a leprechaun throwing up a rainbow. It made me laugh.

Since the holiday was finally on a Saturday, and the day was beautiful, we met up with some friends and watched the parade for the first time ever. Mark Cuban had donated 40 big ones to keep the parade going for one more year. You got to hand it to this guy, he loves this city (and getting the attention for it). My husband started the morning off right with made from scratch Irish coffee (coffee, Bailey’s Irish Cream and whiskey) and we made our way to the parade to meet up with some friends. Now, I will tell you that the parade started at 11am, and our friends were going to be there around 9am (one got a spot the night before). I was not going to get there any earlier than 11am, it’s the weekend remember?

The parade was ok. The best float was a van filled with Hispanics playing reggaeton music with a love for the Dallas Mavs. They had spray painted the van with their logo: “Los Mavs”. I love it. The rest of it was just ok, nothing to rave about. There were some odd floats: a tax company, moving company and construction company, but hey as long as they were throwing beads people were cheering. You saw the usual mess of sleazy outfits and drunk walking. One girl was stumbling so much but she made sure to hold on to her cooler with beer! Another girl was warning people to be careful of moving cars as she was backing up next to one… oh the people of our city.

Afterwards, we met up with my sisters at a house party. I have never been there and met the host for the first time. This guy knows how to throw a party. Sponsors (classy ones like the Slip Inn), live DJ (who was pretty good) and alcohol flowing throughout the day. It was a good time.

Closing in on about 6 hours of outdoor drinking, I had reached my limit and it was time to get some food and go home. I had read on my trusty FB wall that a pop up food truck was going to be on Greenville Ave. I had my eye on that from the minute we got to the parade. Trailercakes was going to be there selling cupcakes (their flavor of the day was “Tanked”- Guinness cupcake with Bailey’s Irish Cream frosting and “Lucky Charms” with the favorite cereal crumbled on top). Ruthie’s Rolling Cafe would there with grilled cheese, Easy Sliders with, well, sliders, and finally Nammi Truck who shows up to pretty much everything. By the time 5pm rolled around though, I just wanted to eat something and go home. Alas, the food truck appearance didn’t happen. We went to The Stand, a cool 50’s diner style spot that sells hot dogs and other diner favorites and also double as a late night spot (open until 3am). If you haven’t checked it out, I recommend it 🙂

With food in our bellies, we made it home, and passed out on the couch. When I woke up and checked Facebook to see all the funny pictures, I saw that Trailercakes was giving out free cupcakes on McKinney. I wanted to go, my mind was all for it. My body, however, didn’t have the same mindset…

Happy St. Patty’s Day everyone.

Leave a Reply

