that little monthly box of joy

Ok so Birchbox is that cute little box that makes my heart go pitter patter every month. A surprise box filled with high-end beauty products for me to try to my hearts desire. There are a lot of things that make me happy, but beauty samples have a special place in my heart (awww).

I’ve come to know that there are A LOT of subscription based companies out there doing the same thing and are hot, hot, hot. Birchbox was the first one that I had heard of, and after that I started doing some research on others like it. Here are some that have peaked my interest:

Cravebox (lifestyle products- think food, beauty and household items. I’ve actually subscribed to this one and got my first box today. More on that below)

Conscious Box (green, sustainable beauty and food products)

Turntable Kitchen (this one is really interesting- get music, recipes and ingredients for a fun night. I personally really want to try this one)

JewelMint (unique and fashion forward jewelry sent out every month)

Birchbox Man (just like Birchbox for us gals, just tailored for men)

Manpacks (for those guys that just can’t get the essentials together. underwear, socks, razors, etc)

Lost Crates (a pricier box, so I’m a little hesitant to go for it, but the crates seem to be more complete and offer a ton of variety including for foodies or stationary)

Here are some other boxes out there as well:

Citrus Lane (for mommies)

Just the Right Book (just take the book finder quiz and you’ll get a selected book to your door every month. Great for that reader that is always looking for something new)

Now a lot of these are new, and some will fail while others prosper- that’s the nature of the business. I have to say though, even if you’re not a samples beauty junkie like me, the thought of getting a little box every month with secret surprises will get anyone excited.

Birchbox is by far my favorite, and when they announced they were launching Birchbox for Men, I wanted it. I have to admit a part of it was for myself, curious to see what products were in there, and a part of it was for Justin to discover new products. In his first box he got a an SPF moisturizer, shaving cream, rumbatime (still trying to figure that one out) and cologne sample. Not bad. If any women are reading this and want something kind of fun for your man, this is the ticket. No worries if he’s not the metro sexual kind, even my husband got excited opening up the box. Check it out here. There is a waiting list, so get on it so you’ll be the first to get in on the action.

A word of advice, some of these boxes are in beta, which means they are just launching and have a limited supply to send out. It’s their way of testing it out. I had to be on the waiting list for Cravebox before I was able to subscribe for a slot. It does add a bit more excitement when you do get a slot and get your first box.

Speaking of Cravebox, I just got my first on today and here is a picture of what I got inside:

Lipton Tea, After Sun Moisturizer, Dried Plums, Sugar Scrub (from Tree Hut nonetheless, a company I used to work for) and Belgian Chocolates. $10 a month.

There are a TON more out there, here is a website that has been really good about updating their list. It even has them in other countries which is cool.

These boxes are super popular, so there are boxes out there for everyone- crafts, art, toddlers, womans products (yep you heard me), even toys for dogs. The best thing about these boxes is that you can unsubscribe at any time, no fee to cancel.

So try one or try a couple, totally up to you. Since the boxes are so different the options are endless. Just don’t say I didn’t warn you when you have 4 or 5 boxes at your doorstep and you start to think you have a problem. I’m sure there is a group for that out there by now 🙂

Happy opening!

2 thoughts on “that little monthly box of joy

  1. I love, love, love reading your blog!!!! I so look forward to it. You are a very talented writer. Keep up the good work!
    Amelia
    xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

